The 21st International Conference on Digital Research in the Humanities and Arts (DRHA)

Hos­ted by the Arts Insti­tute at the Uni­ver­sity of Ply­mouth (UK)

10–13 Septem­ber 2017


We’re drown­ing (not wav­ing) in a sea of data – with data, data every­where, but not a drop of inform­a­tion.” (US Nation­al Secur­ity Agency Web­site)

This major inter­na­tion­al trans­dis­cip­lin­ary con­fer­ence explores the use and mis­use of data in the digit­al arts and human­it­ies: in par­tic­u­lar, the mater­i­al, prac­tic­al and the­or­et­ic­al chal­lenges imposed by data and the digit­al turn; and the ten­sions, dif­fi­culties and cre­at­ive poten­tials that data pro­vokes.

The con­fer­ence will explore the bit­ter­sweet pain of the schol­ar in search of absent data, groan­ing under the weight of vast data-sets or grap­pling with and cleans­ing dirty data; the pos­sib­il­it­ies of net­worked com­munit­ies, rela­tion­ships and iden­tit­ies, medi­ated through data stor­age and trans­mis­sion tech­no­lo­gies; the manip­u­lat­ive power to pro­cess text and image; the seem­ingly unlim­ited oppor­tun­it­ies for media and cul­ture made access­ible, and shar­able, and mal­le­able through its status as data.

As sig­ni­fic­antly, Data Ache will cre­ate a space for con­ver­sa­tions and col­lab­or­a­tions across dis­cip­lines. The con­fer­ence will fea­ture ‘long tables’, per­form­ances, a recep­tion, and a con­fer­ence meal at the Nation­al Mar­ine Aquar­i­um. A selec­tion of papers will be developed into a col­lec­tion, edited by the organ­isers, fol­low­ing the con­fer­ence.

Registration for DRHA is live! Call for presentations is now closed.

Early bird regis­tra­tion is now live. Please vis­it the Uni­ver­sity of Ply­mouth estore to book.

DRHA2017 Conference Chairs and Co-Directors:

Prof James Day­bell, Prof Rober­ta Mock, Dr Sana Mur­rani and Dr Andrew Pri­or

DRHA2017 Local Organizing Committee: 

Dr Nick Barnett, James Brockle­hurst, Dr Elena Men­en­dez-Alon­so, Dr Kay­la Park­er, Prof Mike Phil­lips, Claudia Pilsl, Dr Ale­jandro Vel­iz-Reyes, Ruth Way, Dr Min Wild, Dr Duncan Wil­li­ams, Dr Kath­ar­ine Wil­lis, Stu­art Moore and Ian Ray­ment.